Make your own free website on

Board of Supervisors


The Board of Supervisors consists of five members and is the governing body of this second-class Township. They are vested with executive and legislative powers and are responsible for the annual budget. They also appoint members to boards and commissions that assist in the delivery of municipal services. The Board for the year 2011 are as follows: 


  • Chairman Dean R. Kercsmar-  Term: 2010 - 2015

  • Vice-Chairman Jacob Nothstein - Term: 2010 - 2015

  • Cory R. Smith;  Term:  2012 - 2017

  • John M. Strockoz;  Term:  2012 - 2017

  • Herb Truhe;  Term:  2008 - 2013 

The Board of Supervisors meet the 1st Monday of each month at the Social Hall at 5:00 PM.  If the  first Monday is a holiday then the board meets on the next day. Any special meetings are advertised in the Times News - legal notice section.  2012: September meeting is Tuesday, Sept. 4; August meeting is Wed. Aug. 1

To ask the Board to have an item added to the agenda for discussion  contact the Township Office.  Agenda content is at the direction of the Board.  Public comments are always accepted during Courtesy of the Floor.




Deanna L. Cunfer

Township Secretary


167 Municipal Road

Lehighton, PA 18235

Phone:  570-386-5735




State Office of Open Records: 

Ms. Terry Mutchler, Executive Director

Commonwealth Keystone Building

400 North Street, Plaza Level

Harrisburg PA 17120-0225


District Attorney of Carbon County: 

PO Box 36

Jim Thorpe PA 18229

Phone:  570-325-2718


The Treasurer is appointed annually by the Board of Supervisors. The current Treasurer is Susan M. Rhoads-Procina. The Township  Secretary is Deanna L. Cunfer.  They carry out the policies of the Board and manage the daily functions of the township government.  The Township Secretary and Treasurer can be reached by calling 570-386-5735 - follow the voicemail prompts to leave a message.

The Treasurer is responsible for the proper accounting and reporting of all financial activities to the Township. She also prepares budgets and provides financial information to the Board.

Road Crew

The Road Crew maintains 40.02 miles of roads in the Township and winter maintainance of all the state roads except SR 895 and Dinkey Road. The Department is responsible for road maintenance, winter snow & ice removal, as well as vehicle maintenance and other related work. 

Cory Smith serves as the Roadmaster and can be reached through the Township office at 570-386-5735 . 

If you have any concerns to be addressed contact the Township office..